My Sister-in-Law is 19: Review

16Mar10

[references to my rant in every corner. sorry.]

… and it was, in fact, a trick of the eye.

If you’ve read my rant, you would know that I had -not high, but hopes for this drama. False hope is a dangerous thing. Every reason I had for finishing this drama, every reason that made me think  ‘oh, this might have something worth clinging on to’ has been crushed within the last three episodes. What a shame. I don’t even know where to start.

Remember wanting Su Ji to be crushed. I gave up on the romance, I just wanted to see karma come to play for Su Ji and her mother. It didn’t happen. No revenge, no punishment, no karma. “The venom in your eyes are a punishment enough” he says. ARE. YOU. KIDDING. ME. RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE. It sucks that the only conflict holding my interest was solved in such… a pathetic and cheap way. I feel like I’ve been ripped off.
And on top of that, the stupid father begins to destroy the family with a conscience. ARE. YOU. SERIOUS. 
I have no words.

Once again, I don’t mind drama. But this -was it even a tear-jerker? It was angst for the sake of angst. Tension for the sake of tension. Conflict for the sake of conflict.

And don’t even get me started on the father. Too late. In the memories, he seemed like a loving and caring father. He was very cute -kind of like a father that every one wants. How did he grow up to be such a cold-hearted man. Sure, he lost his memory BUT HOW ABOUT WHEN HE GAINED IT. He was so controlling, vicious and protective. The family that he was destroying was the same one gave his daughter hope when she was in need. Sure, they were the people who abandoned her -BUT THEY WERE BLACK MAILED. The real victims, you let go by saying -what? They have venom in their eyes? SIR. I am NOT a fan of the double-standard nonsense.

And the romance aspect. THEY GOT TOGETHER -IN THE LAST FIVE MINUTES. I kid you not. And I didn’t even care for the romance after it got… so unreasonable. But, that -that’s just… sad.

This drama is a drama -for the sake of being a drama. I don’t know what else to say about it. It got me worked up. Potential? Kind of. Started as a light-hearted drama, became oh, so dramatic and angsty, ended in a pile of poop.

It’s not that the acting was bad or anything -they are all pretty decent actors (as far as I can tell), it’s mainly the plot that got me so angry.

On the drama’s defence, it did hold my interest through the entire thing. It was not difficult to watch. But it’s like waiting for something that is never going to happen. How tiring.

No Responses Yet to “My Sister-in-Law is 19: Review”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

