Brilliant Legacy: Another Review (Attempt)

10Feb10

Yeah, this makes a number two for Brilliant Legacy review- but I realize that my other one is lengthy, and a tad all-over-the place. It’s more my thoughts than evaluating the actual drama (not promising that this one will be an cleaner though. LOL.). Anyway -this and my other review will probably have the same points.  This one will just be… shorter -AND Y’KNOW IF YOU WANT A LONGER ONE JUST CLICK HERE, YES RIGHT OVER HERE. YKNOW YOU WANT TO. 

Annnnddd off to the short one~

Synopsis:
I could attempt to tell you Brilliant Legacy is about, but one of the great things about Brilliant Legacy is that every detail in the drama connects. So, if I did try to write one, it’ll just go on and on and on (trust me, I’ve tried.) And dramawiki’s synopsis doesn’t give justice to the actual drama. But, if you want to imagine, it’s a meeting of a bunch of cliches: cinderella story, cold-hearted rich male lead, not-so-rich (though she once was) hardworking heroine, an almost-too-perfect male (being the hopeless one in the love triangle.  sobs.), bickering at the start, love at the end, money hungry (step)family members.  If that helps you visualize, I don’t know, but at least you have an idea what to expect.

Thoughts:
I’ll start by saying: Brilliant Legacy is not everyone’s cup of tea. That being said, it’s worth a shot. To be honest, I wasn’t too impressed with it at first. I was simply watching it because there wasn’t anything better to watch. In fact, I started it because the synopsis on dramawiki made it sound like ‘my kind of drama.’ Warm girl melts heart of cold male’. I cannot express my love for that kind of plot. I know, I know, that’s the plot of every other drama out there! Which is why I love watching every other drama out there. Haha. Anyway, I was expecting a lightweight, easy going, fast-paced drama… Brilliant Legacy was far from that. Far. And I had to learn it the hard way.

The only reason why I continued watching Brilliant Legacy (despite my not-so-hot first impression) was to see the leads fall in love! They weren’t remotely interested with each other at first. They hated each other, and I’m not talking about the ‘bicker-bicker-omg-im-in-love’ type of hate, but actual hate. They could not stand each other, not the slightest. I honestly could not wrap my head around the fact that they were to be lovers. I was so interested in how, people who disliked each other with such a fiery hot passion, they were going to do it. It was impossible!

Something else that caught my attention was Hwan’s character growth.  He was one of the few male leads that I actually hated. I hated him more than Eun Sung did, he was a disgusting, cocky, immature jerk. He frustrated me. But once he learns of value and starts appreciating life -it’s really rewarding. And it’s such a beautiful growth to witness. Lee Seung Gi did well with that, and I’ll forever love him. Pft, bias? What bias do you speak of?

This drama isn’t necessarily easy to get into, but once you do -it’s hard to get out. I love Brilliant Legacy endlessly. While it’s not really my ideal drama, while I didn’t always feel happy while watching -it’s the closest kdrama to my heart. I have a huuuuuuuge soft-spot for it, and it’s deserving of that spot.

[end]

Well, under 600 words! WOOT! Anyway, I don’t think I did less of that ‘evaluating’ stuff than I did last go. Yes, I’m going to keep linking you onto this okay. Anyway, now read this one. I put my heart, sweat and blood into it. PLEASE? LOL.  I’m kidding. Not really. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to whip out a ‘proper’ review, but y’know, why not make a rant, and slap the word ‘review’ onto it. Im kidding. Not really.

No Responses Yet to “Brilliant Legacy: Another Review (Attempt)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

